List of Chief Justice of India (1950-2023) Download PDF

List of Chief Justice of India (CJI)

Complete List of Chief Justice of India(CJI) PDF.The present 50th Chief Justice of India (CJI) is Justice D. Y. Chandrachud.The chief justice of India is the head of the judiciary of India and the Supreme Court of India.The CJI also heads their administrative functions.Welcome to the online Current Affairs & GK section.If you are preparing for LIC AAO, SBI PO/Clerk, NABARD Grade A/B, SSC, Railway, FCI, CWC and other competitive exams, you will come across a section on the Current Affairs & GK.List of Chief Justice of India(CJI) is very important topic for competitive exams.

Today, we provide you with the concise List of Chief Justice of India(CJI).This List of Chief Justice of India is important and useful for upcoming competitive exams.As per previous years’ exam trend, 1-2 questions are generally asked from this topic so we have compiled the List of Chief Justice of India(CJI).

Telegram Group (Join Now) Join Now
WhatsApp Group (Join Now) Join Now 

You may also like: List of Chief Ministers & Governors 2023 of the Indian States & UT (Updated) – Download PDF

List of Chief Justice of India(CJI)

The President has appointed Justice D. Y. Chandrachud, Judge of the Supreme Court as the Chief Justice of India.Justice D. Y. Chandrachud will take over as the 50th Chief Justice of India on 9th November 2022.

Justice Chandrachud, who was elevated to the top court on May 13, 2016, will have a tenure of two years as the CJI and is due to retire on November 10, 2024. Supreme Court judges retire at the age of 65.

He is the son of the longest serving CJI D V Chandrachud who was the head of the judiciary from February 22, 1978 to July 11, 1985.

He was judge of the Bombay high court from March 29, 2000 until his appointment as the Chief Justice of the Allahabad High Court from October 31, 2013.

Justice Chandrachud was designated as a senior advocate by the Bombay high court in June 1998 and became Additional Solicitor General in the same year till his appointment as a judge.
After completing BA with Honours in Economics from St Stephen’s College, New Delhi, Justice Chandrachud did his LLB from Campus Law Centre, Delhi University, and obtained LLM degree and a Doctorate in Juridical Sciences (SJD) from Harvard Law School, USA.
He practised law at the Supreme Court and the Bombay high court and was a visiting professor of comparative Constitutional law at the University of Mumbai.

Complete List of Chief Justice of India (CJI) (1950- 2023)

S.No Name Period
1 H. J. Kania 1950-1951
2 M. Patanjali Sastri 1951-1954
3 Mehr Chand Mahajan 1954
4 Bijan Kumar Mukherjea 1954-1956
5 Sudhi Ranjan Das 1956-1959
6 Bhuvaneshwar Prasad Sinha 1959-1964
7 P. B. Gajendragadkar 1964-1966
8 Amal Kumar Sarkar 1966
9 Koka Subba Rao 1966-1967
10 Kailas Nath Wanchoo 1967-1968
11 Mohammad Hidayatullah[10] 1968-1970
12 Jayantilal Chhotalal Shah 1970-71
13 Sarv Mittra Sikri 1971-73
14 Ajit Nath Ray 1973-1977
15 Mirza Hameedullah Beg 1977-1978
16 Yeshwant Vishnu Chandrachud 1978-1985
17 Prafullachandra Natwarlal Bhagwati 1985-1986
18 Raghunandan Swarup Pathak 1986-1989
19 Engalaguppe Seetharamiah Venkataramiah 1989
20 Sabyasachi Mukharji 1989-1990
21 Ranganath Misra 1990-1991
22 Kamal Narain Singh 1991
23 Madhukar Hiralal Kania 1991-1992
24 Lalit Mohan Sharma 1992-1993
25 Manepalli Narayana Rao Venkatachaliah 1993-1994
26 Aziz Mushabber Ahmadi 1994-1997
27 Jagdish Sharan Verma 1997-1998
28 Madan Mohan Punchhi 1998
29 Adarsh Sein Anand 1998-2001
30 Sam Piroj Bharucha 2001-2002
31 Bhupinder Nath Kirpal 2002
32 Gopal Ballav Pattanaik 2002
33 V. N. Khare 2002-2004
34 S. Rajendra Babu 2004
35 Ramesh Chandra Lahoti 2004-2005
36 Yogesh Kumar Sabharwal 2005-2007
37 K. G. Balakrishnan 2007-2010
38 S. H. Kapadia 2010-2012
39 Altamas Kabir 2012-2013
40 P. Sathasivam 2013-2014
41 Rajendra Mal Lodha 2014
42 H. L. Dattu 2014-2015
43 T. S. Thakur 2015-2017
44 J. S. Khehar 2017
45 Dipak Misra 2017-2018
46 Ranjan Gogoi 2018-19
47 Sharad Arvind Bobde 2019- 2021
48 Nuthalapati Venkata Ramana 2021-2022
49 Uday Umesh Lalit 2022
50 D. Y. Chandrachud 2022-ncumbent


Complete List of Chief Justice of India (CJI) (1950- 2023)

यह भी पढ़े: भारत के वर्तमान राज्यपालों और लेफ्टिनेंट गवर्नर की सूची 2022 (Updated) : राज्यों और केंद्र शासित प्रदेशों में

Current Affairs PDF 2023 – Download Ebooks

Try Attempt Daily Current Affairs 2023 Quizzes on the latest current affairs questions and answers, this Daily Current Affairs 2023 resource yields the facts about the events of International Current affairs, National, Sports, Business, Banking Current Affairs 2023, and more which are Important for competitive exams as well as interviews.

Important Static GK PDF for SSC, Railway & Banking Exams